+91 011-25639826
            Till the early 80s of the past century there  was no substantial Pentecostal population in Janakpuri and Delhi Cant. Only four Pentecostal families were living here and they had to travel a long distance to attend the Sunday worship service. At that time Pastor K. T. Thomas was the president of Indian Pentecostal Church (IPC) Northern Region and when some believers approached him to apprise him of the troubles they had in commuting kilometres to attend worship services and other spiritual meetings, he gave them his consent to start a new worship service under the aegis of IPC.  Pastor Thomas posted a full time pastor to lead the new worship service and Brother K. C. Samuel offered his house to hold services until a church hall was constructed at an ideal site.  On January10th 1982, Pastor Thomas inaugurated the worship service marking the beginning of IPC Janakpuri. The first pastor to be posted was Pastor John Oommen. Besides Brother Samuel and his family, Brothers T. M. Abraham, V. K. Varughese and Varkey, and their families were the members of the church.

For about five years, the congregation continued to assemble at Brother Samuel's house. In 1985 a plot was acquired at Chanakya Place and a church hall was built. Pastor P. V. Mammen was the minister-in-charge when the church moved to its own premises. The first meeting in the newly constructed building was held in February, 1987.

In the meantime, the strength of the church had increased. In the inaugural meeting only 17 people gathered including guests. But, by the end of 1982 itself, 35 members attended the church. Various activities like Sunday school, cottage meetings, fasting prayers, special bible classes, annual conventions, mini conventions etc. were duly conducted making the church grow at a steady pace.
A congregation for Hindi speaking people was formed in 2001. The church celebrated its Silver Jubilee on March 3rd 2007; on the occasion it also published a souvenir. The Silver Jubilee Convention was held from April 3rd to 6th in 2008 with Rev. Amos Singh as the speaker.

The church hall has been renovated at different stages. The single story building was converted into a double storey building more than a decade ago. Next, the rooftop was turned into a suitable place for serving food during special occasions. The latest renovation has converted the ground floor into a parking lot with another storey being added for the parsonage.
IPC Shalom Janakpuri has integrated changes in practises and approaches without compromising the fundamental doctrines in any sort. Its endeavour is to preach the Gospel of peace and love in its original form, without the slightest of dilution. The church has been sustaining the very evangelistic outlook developed in its incipient stage.

Former Pastors
Pastor John Oommen (1982 - 1984)
Pastor P. V. Mammen (1984 - 1989)
Pastor Sunny George (1989 - 1992)
Pastor K. Georgekutty (1992 - 1997)
Pastor V. V. Philipose (1997 - 2000)
Pastor Sam Thomas (2000 - 2004)
Pastor Benny Thomas (2004 - 2007)
Pastor K. Georgekutty (Second term - 2007 - 2012)

About us
Friend Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Dig Our Posts On Digg
Subscribe To Our RSS Feed
Church Committee
Joint Secretary
Brother Joshuakutty
Our Pastor Binoy George
Pastor Vijaypal
Hindi Congregation
Secretary Brother
E. M. Shaji
Brother T. M. Thomas
Vice President Brother
Joy Varughese
A Sanctuary of Divine Peace
Church Committee
President:               Pastor Binoy George
Vice President:        Brother Joy Varughese
Secretary:              Brother E. M. Shaji
Treasurer:               Brother T. M. Thomas
Joint Secretary:       Brother Joshuakutty
Committee Members: Pastor Vijaypal, Brother Johnson P. C, Brother Samkutty George, Brother Rajendran P. G, Brother Shibu K. George, Brother Sagar